This project is read-only.

Regarding Audience listed in the Authentication Request

Aug 29, 2016 at 6:26 PM
Forgive me as I'm a bit new to SAML authentication but it looks like the Service Provider's ID field is used for both the issuer and the Audience listed under the Audience restriction section of the authentication request.

Is it not possible to list more than one audience in the request? Browsing the source it looks like it only uses the Service Provider ID when generating the request and ignores anything listed in the config's allowedAudienceUris. Is there a reason for this? Is this something that could be configured differently or is it really hard coded to always be the service provider ID?

Thank you for any answers!
Aug 31, 2016 at 4:37 PM
Not in the AuthnRequest, that is hard coded to be the same as the SP ID on purpose. The specification is a LITTLE vague on this, so I'm not sure if this should be changed to open up and allow multiple via allowedAudiences or not... a conservative approach has been taken which only allows the SP to send its ID as an audienceRestriction here.

Whats your use case?
Aug 31, 2016 at 6:53 PM
Actually it sounds like this turned out to be incorrect. However, to explain, my application needs to interact with PING as an IdP and PING was giving errors regarding the authentication request. The group who own the IdP setup thought the audience was incorrect in the request but that appears to not really be an issue.

Instead, it looks like the Single Sign On service's location is something like "https://sso.connect.pingidentity.com/sso/idp/SSO.saml2?idpid=[some guid]". When the request is made, it looks like SAML2 will append a "?" before the SAMLRequest is added to the URL so it becomes: "https://sso.connect.pingidentity.com/sso/idp/SSO.saml2?idpid=[some guid]?SAMLRequest=[encoded xml string]".

I think it's an issue with how the url is built in the "TransferClient" method of Saml20SignonHandler.cs. The line is the following: