This project is read-only.

CheckReplayAttack() preventing IdP-Initiated SSO?

Aug 14, 2014 at 9:06 PM
This is my first time using this SAML2 project so this could be due to my ignorance, but is CheckReplayAttack() preventing IdP-Initiated SSO?

I've setup SSO between my site and my IdP and when I launch a traditional IdP-Initiated SSO I get the error message, "Saml20Exception: Received a response message that did not contain an InResponseTo attribute."

I've captured the traffic with SAML Tracer and indeed the InResponseTo attribute is missing. But that's expected during IdP-Initiated SSO, right?

My users are accustomed to launching apps like Salesforce and Marketo directly from the IdP's dashboard of available apps so I need to support IdP-Initiated POSTs without InResponseTo. I'm not seeing any options in the code to bypass CheckReplayAttack() and am thinking I'll have to add that.

Sound right? Did I miss something? Thanks!
Aug 15, 2014 at 12:12 AM
Yes, it would indeed prevent this use case. This is a check inherited from the OIOSAML.NET project which explicitly doesn't use IDP initiated for their profile, apparently.

The check is valid if the response is not unsolicited (IDP initiated), which is the norm for most cases, and removing it in those cases would kind of defeat the purpose of that feature of the SAML 2 specification...

However, as it is a supported use case in the spec, we might need to just put in a configuration switch to "allowIDPInitiated" or something of the like on the identity provider elements in the config... there are already some other flags on those elements to disable other checks (e.g. signing checks, etc.).

Or in the short term, just comment it out and recompile. :-)

If you are so inclined to make a pull request, or a feature request with the contents of your message under "Issues", I can add something like that in the next release.
Aug 15, 2014 at 6:06 PM